Tarot or Oracle?

Moon mind

I propably sound like a complete Newbie...But
I would Like to know what is the difference between oracle cards tarot cards.
Oracle: No major- minor arcana.
Tarot:major - minor arcana
Is that it, or there is other differences?
Thanks
mm

Unknownspirit

Tarot cards have set means that most decks follow.
Tarot decks always have 78 cards(some decks may have a extra card or two)
With Oracle cards, each deck follows its own rules.

firecatpickles

Unknownspirit said:
Tarot decks always have 78 cards (some decks may have a extra card or two)
The Minchiate Tarot has 97 cards, 41 trumps instead of 22 major arcane.

KK

Unknownspirit

Really... well then tarot has "at least" 78 cards.

Moon mind

Unknownspirit said:
Really... well then tarot has "at least" 78 cards.
Hi and thank you!
then what about some decks with only 22 Majors? they are still Tarot? right?
thanks
Mm
still little confused...

Sulis

Moon mind said:
Hi and thank you!
then what about some decks with only 22 Majors? they are still Tarot? right?
thanks
Mm

Yes, they're still tarot - that would be a Major's only deck.

Most complete tarot deck have a Major and a Minor Arcana and the Minor arcana is divided into 4 suits.
Oracle decks tend to have no set structure.

truelighth

kilts_knave said:
The Minchiate Tarot has 97 cards, 41 trumps instead of 22 major arcane.

KK

I don't think the Minchiate Tarot actually qualifies as a tarot, so the name is actually deceiving. It is a Minchiate deck, not true tarot. But they are very closely related.

firecatpickles

truelighth said:
I don't think the Minchiate Tarot actually qualifies as a tarot