Learning how to read proffesionaly

skeetonwarde

I have been learning how to read the tarot for about 9 months now and have some really great books on interpretation and spreads, but would now like to maybe think about reading for other people with a view to charge for the readings later on. Are there any structured courses around in the uk for people who want to read proffesionally or should i just carry on teaching myself and reading for friends and family. How do you know when you're ready and is it even ok to charge for readings. I love the tarot deeply now and I would not want to feel I am abusing the cards for my own ends.

Advice would be amazing plus i;d love to know how some of you decided you were ready to read tarot proffesionaly and how you went about starting up.

Grizabella

I think the best training for doing professional readings is to practice, practice, practice reading for people for free to begin with. After doing that for awhile---say several months to a year or longer----then if your feedback is good, you could start putting out a donation jar and see how it goes. Not everyone is cut out for reading professionally, in my opinion, and even those who are probably spend a long time learning and practicing before charging. I know I did.

Umbrae

The gap between reading for yourself, family and friends, and reading professionally is huge.

The key is, you're reading face to face - with strangers. That's scary enough, toss money into the mix and it can be terrifying at first.

When I first wrote "The Process" it was designed as a series of articles about reading for strangers face to face. You must understand - that there is a process, an internal one, in making the move. And it's an area for which there are no books published...at this time.

There is a book 'about' reading professionally (I suggest checking out of the library, so you can return it when done. It's not worth the cover price).