new cards and if there is any specific....

bella71

Heya im new to tarot and i was just wondering if there was anything specific you have to do when you first open your deck, like clean them or something, it sounds silly i know but my sister has put a fear in me because i bought my own cards and she said that it was bad luck to buy your own. Can anyone advice me please. Thankyou Bella

memries

No. no it is not bad luck to buy your own cards. As you go through life buy yourself lots of good things, like flowers, jewellery, good stuff you like !
We do we always have to wait for other people to buy things for us ?
I would just play with them for a while, make sure they are all there and shuffle them. What kind did you buy ?
Lots of sites on here for different types of cards. I am sure someone else will answer you as well. Happy Taroting.

P.S. There are many people on here from Australia !

HudsonGray

If we didn't buy them for ourselves most of the people on this list wouldn't even have their first deck yet, so don't buy into an old myth. That's all it is, really.

Play with them, handle them, get to know them. Don't listen to old wives tales. There are no rules in this. You learn as you go and stick with what feels right, not what's being pushed on you for fear.

Brock Johnson

I am once again backing up Hudson Gray's wise words. I bought all of my decks except one which was a gift but at that time, it was deck#5. In fact, I just ordered 5 more decks tonight! Don't be afraid of the little tales that people like to tell to get a cheap thrill out of.

If you are just starting, it's probably best starting with a classic like Rider-Waite or Thoth or many of the 'clones' of these. Thoth might be too hard for a beginner but the two I mentioned are very well known in the tarot world and you can find help about either almost anywhere you go.

Good luck with the tarot,

Brock Johnson

full deck

Please try reading this: http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/learn/faq.shtml