Is it helpful to read several books while learning?

witzipoo

Hi. I bought the Rider Waite deck & Joan Bunning's Learning the Tarot book.
I do have several decks & other books (Mary K Greer) but am only using the Rider Waite & Bunning's book to study. I'm no where near doing a reading yet. I take one card a day & study it, read the meaning several times, study to image, go back think about it some more & so on with one card a day. My "plan" was to get a good book knowledge under my belt & incorporate with my intuition. Has anyone read 2 or 3 books at once to get different perspectives on the cards? Like, would it be helpful or harmful to continue my "card a day" studies but read several meanings for the same card? I feel like when I am able to get different perspectives it uncovers something that was inside myself all along, maybe just hidden. I take what I need & leave the rest. Maybe it would be confusing though! I'm only up to Justice. I just started studying 2 weeks ago. I would love some experience & input on this! Help! How many books?!?!?!

tarotbear

witzipoo~ welcome.

There is nothing wrong with reading (or owning!) an entire shelf of Tarot books! However - a few points:

You will soon discover that no two authors agree on any one point. This is natural and should be expected. It does not mean one author is right and the other is wrong. Tarot is fluid and most authors write from their experience and usage of it.

Trying to memorize - don't do it! IMPOSSIBLE! You will end up with such a headache! If you memorize a book all you will ever know is that one author's 'take' on Tarot and that is not a good thing. You should be open to learning from everyone.