Guessing the card

a_shikhs

Have you tried taking a card in your hand and then guessing which card it is??

I tried it today with the Quest Tarot. I picked up one card randomly and held it with its back facing me. Then I closed my eyes and tried to connect with the card without seeing it. I could see a lot of orange in my mind and kept getting the word 'misery' in my mind. And when I turned the card over, it was the '10 of swords' with a lot of orange in it. :)

I then took one more card and could see a lot of blues and purples in my mind and kept thinking of the word 'completion'. And the card tuned out to be the 'Universe' with a lot of blue and purple. :)

I found this exercise really exciting and am going to try it again. Has anyone tried this before?

madmoiselle

No, but now that you say that, I might have to try!

ravenest

Yes I have done it, and we have done it in group work. I am not very good at it. :-(

This is like one of the A.A. (magical order) exercises. They tested psychic ability in this way. Crowley has written on this and he suggests keeping a record of the results. He also points out to be aware of similarities, even if the card is different from what you thought, examine its attributes a bit more and you might find, although you got the card wrong, you detected the energy or the ruling planet or sign.

a_shikhs

madmoiselle said:
No, but now that you say that, I might have to try!

You must try it. It was really exciting guessing the card. :)

ravenest said:
Yes I have done it, and we have done it in group work. I am not very good at it. :-(