More than Just the Tarot?

Yavaphun

New to the board here…

This might be in the wrong area. However it is a question that I have.

Let me give you some background. I used to read all the time for people. I found my deck (thoth) or the Crowley, first thing I did was throw away the rules or description of the cards. I read 100% by intuitive feel of them. I have no formal school or knowledge of the Tarot. As of late (last 8 years) I only read for a few select people in their setting not mine. If they request I read for someone I will but again only in thier setting. I never use any normal spread just one that feels right.

To my question: Anyone out there uses any props or other things besides the Tarot, to aid in the reading? When I read I open up (best words to describe it, curse the English language) I have noticed that bowl of water to the side helps a bit. Always one candle or more is also cool helps the feel. Or commands more focus from me and the person I m reading for.

Eye contact with the person I m reading for? I s that normal I always try to capture something there.

Physical contact. Like shaking hands a pat on the back some sort of contact to get some feel of them. Something tangible.

My readings have gotten very long (1 hour at least) to my dismay sometimes I get requested to many times. However for those I enjoy I do not mind.

Anyone else use any of these or something else to aid in?

MoonLitCrystal

I am actually quite the opposite. When I read face to face I get very nervous and don't do as well. This could be because I am fairly new, and when I am face to face I feel rushed to figure out what the cards mean to me in that particular spread. Also, a big part of it is that I simply do all of my communicating better when it's written. :)

Yavaphun

wow I have never read for someone not around. I need them with me....

How do you get a feel for the person?

Lain_82