How long did it take you?

Grizabella

I've been thinking about how long I've been studying tarot and it makes me wonder if I've gotten a little dense in my old age. I started learning when I was in my early 50's and now, at 60, I'm finally "getting it" so that it's coming really easily---or a lot more easily than it did for the longest time. Is it just that I'm a slow learner or did it take anyone else such a long time?

At this point, I feel like I can read with almost any deck quite comfortably as long as it's got illustrated pips. I've still got years more study ahead of me because tarot is a lifetime study, but in some respects, I feel like FINALLY I've "arrived" in a sense, but it seems like it took me forever. Did anyone else take so long?

I guess if nothing else, I can serve to be an encouragement to others who feel like they're never going to "get it". :D

BrightEye

i've been using the tarot for 15 years now but have only been properly studying its symbolism for about 3 years. for the first 10 years i only used the thoth and could read quite well with it, but when i started acquiring lots of decks and studying them in depth i began to slow down in my learning process. but that's not a bad thing because my readings are also gaining more depth.

i don't think i've answered your question, but what i'm trying to say is that you never stop learning the tarot. but you might find different ways of learning - some take you ages and some you master in a very short time.

a_shikhs

Ive been studying tarot since one and a half year and still feel that there is so much more to learn. Everyday is a learning experience for me. I am still not very comfortable with court cards. Maybe I really need to do a deeper study with them. I too feel that I can read with any deck now and I dont have to actually study study that deck in order to read with it. Intuition just flows.. :)

star-lover

a_shikhs said: