PDA

View Full Version : Rock Identification!

Azarial
15-09-2006, 09:34
Hello everyone :-)

I got these rocks from my nephew, and I'm not sure what they are. So if anyone can help, it would be appreciated. Rocka and Rockb are the same type of rock, but I do know that they are not aquamarine. He had told me before, but we both forgot what it is. I would love any help that can be offered from you rock masters!

-Pamela

Silver_Skye
15-09-2006, 09:44
I'm no expert, but I'll tell you what they look like to me. ^_^

1. Clear Quarts
2. Green Agate or maybe an Aventurine (this ones really iffy for me, those are loose guesses, I"m leaning further towards agate though).
3. This one looks a little like a yellow calcite...
4. Black Agate (I think...)

And I have no idea with A and B. ^_^

Hopefully this helps you out (at the very least you now have some names to start googling with! ^_^)

Disa
15-09-2006, 09:49
I'll have a go at it. These may not be totally accurate, but maybe you can look up pictures of them online and see if they look similar to yours.

1. Quartz or maybe calcite

2. Bloodstone

3. citrine or amber

4. If it's black, obsidion or onyx- is it black or blue? If it's blue, possibly sodalite?

a. and b. howlite?

Azarial
15-09-2006, 09:52
1. I do know that it is not quartz. I have tons of quartz. Calcite is a possibility.

2. Bloodstone, That's what I thought, but wasn't sure.

3. If it's black, obsidion or onyx, It is a blueish black

-Pamela

Ruby7
15-09-2006, 10:00
Rock a and b look like Larimar (not sure of spelling) or Amazonite to me.

Ruby7

Elysianfaery
15-09-2006, 10:34
To me they look like

1. Calcite
2. Some kind of Jasper
3. Orange Chalcedony
4. Hematite (is it heavy?)
A/B. Amazonite

skygreen
15-09-2006, 12:13
1 Either optical calcite or Ulexite or possible selinite slab/chunk
2, bloodstone
Not sure on 3 maybe Orange Cacite or Carnelion orange agate or aragonite
4 not sure is this black or blue or?

Azarial
15-09-2006, 12:16