Crayon Stains

Abrac

I have read that WD-40 or lighter fluid are two commonly-used methods for cleaning crayon stains. Has anyone ever tried this on a tarot card. The card I need to clean is laminated, but not heavily so. Any other ideas you may have tried and found to work well would be greatly appreciated!

Abrac

Lillie

What sort of crayon?

Coloured pencils? wax crayons?

Possibly you could get a similar spare card, like an ad card, and crayon on that and try to get it off.

If it's felt pen then nail varnish remover usually works.
Pencil crayon should rub off with a rubber (eraser?) shouldn't it?
Wax crayon... hmmm... could try a bit of nail varnish remover on that. It's thinners (mostly) gets lots of stuff off.
Thopugh it might be better if you got the pure stuff, as when you get it for nails it has stuff in it.

good luck.

And if you could say what sort of crayon some experimenting might be in order.

LixiPixi

I used to work as a moderator for the Martha Stewart chats in the Keeping room several years ago. I, for one, know from personal experience that WD-40 works like magic. I, personally, wouldn't hesitate to use it on a laminated tarot card to remove crayon. Do you have one of those extra cards that comes with the deck you could test it on just to ease your own mind? I'd spray a little dab of WD-40 on a paper towel or rag and then rub off the crayon. Do you have any wet wipes? Afterwards, I'd use a wet wipe to remove any lingering WD-40 residue that might be left over if needed. I could 97% guarantee it will work and not harm your card (as long as it has some laminating to it)

Good luck!

LP~

LixiPixi

P.S. Another option would be to use plain water and one of those Mr. Clean Magic Eraser sponges. They remove EVERYthing!!! Especially, crayon from walls....hehehe....my house is never without them on hand. ;)

thinbuddha