Is it OK to "wing it" with spreads?

buddhagoddess

Here is a perfect example of my weak sense of self-confidence, but I was wondering if it is OK to lay out cards spontaneously into a spread? As a beginner, I have been using just a simple 3-card "past,present,future" spread. But, I was wondering if I felt the need, I could elaborate it by adding one below to show "what supports me" and one above showing "what is oppressing me"? Does anyone else do spreads like this? I am planning on learning some standard spreads as well but I feel I should let the reading "go with the flow" sometimes. I sometimes just want to pull more cards to clarify a question and based on the situation I will place it where I think it needs to be.

Sorry to ramble...TIA

Knight of Wands

That's fine :)

With tarot, there are no rules.

Do what feels right for you.

Raya

I do that kind of thing all the time. I´ve made up new spreads on the spot. One time my friend was weighing the pros and cons of a situation, and so I put four cards in two rows, one row representing the pros and the other the cons. Another friend of mine, who also practices tarot, but more "orthodoxly", was watching and was like, "Um, where did you learn THAT from?" But it worked really well!

I´ve done that a few times, and sometimes work better than others, but it can be a lot of fun!

celticnoodle

i agree with the other postings. i often do clarifying cards also, just depends on the reading and how i feel at teh time.

Eco74

I do it all the time...

In fact, I'd take it as far as stating quite clearly that I know very few spreads.
Ofcourse I'm familiar with the celtic cross, the reflecting pools, past present future and a few other odd ones, but it's a rare thing for me to memorise the spread positions and it also seems difficult sometimes to adjust the question to the spread...

So instead, I adjust the spread to the question and "wing it" by having conversations with the cards.