Reading for yourself/friend - How not to cloud interpretation

buddhagoddess

I just did a practice reading for a friend of mine who is also a reader. I did some of it in her presence and because our kids were melting down I did the remainder of her questions on my own. I found it a little hard to interpret the cards without inferring my own opinions and feelings about my friend (and her husband). I tend to have the same problem when I read myself. Since I am a beginner I had to refer to the deck's book alot (Sacred Circle). I wrote the cards down for her, their position in the spread I created for the questions, and some basic impressions I got from the cards/book.

How can a reader "filter out" subjective feelings, opinions, and thoughts about a person they know and are reading for without losing or dropping from the reading the messages that are trying to come through? On the flip side, how can you successfully read for a complete stranger without knowing a thing about them except what they present to you when they introduce themselves?

Big questions. Sorry.

Kenny

I think it is the reader who gives meanings to cards. The books say what the cards should mean, but I take what they say and then temper it with what I think.

On one of the lists about men readers I think it was said that some people rather go to men readers as they're more forward with the meanings. Another story I read recently said if a woman breaks down on a motorway they would more likey call their Other Half and the bloke would call the RAC first.

So it is the feelings and opinions that make the reading.

(One last thing is to go and look at horoscopes for you today from many different sources and I bet they are all different and maybe with a basis of simularity--they all use the same stars and planetary movements to start off with...)

FaeryGodmother