PDA

View Full Version : Crystal Ball

thinbuddha
17-10-2006, 04:26
Helvetica's post about her obsidian mirror as well as other references to scrying have led me on a path that has resulted in me being gifted with a natural quartz crystal ball. It is about 4 inches in diameter, and fairly clear for a natural crystal ball- no small gift, I know.

So here I am- a complete novice wanting to scry. Does anyone have any input? There sems to be such a lot of contradictory suggestions out there as to how to scry. Does anyone here do this successfully? Any suggestions for the newbie?

Thanks

-tb

sharpchick
17-10-2006, 07:46
I'd just give you the same advice I did Helvetica in her thread on the obsidian scrying mirror.

I've not tried scrying with clear or opaque stones. I would think your candles would need to be at some distance in order to keep from seeing the actual flame and being distracted by it.

I'm sure there are others who use quartz to scry in though - and my guess is they will be along soon enough.

celticnoodle
17-10-2006, 11:12
thinbuddha, i am certaintly not an expert, but a novice, like you. however, i was told of a great book on crystal ball reading, (though, i've yet to purchase it!) and maybe you should check it out. It is called "Crystal Ball Gazing" 'The complete guide to choosing and reading your crystal ball' by Uma Silbey.

I know it is available at Amazon.com and is not very expensive. In fact, last time i checked it out there on amazon.com, you were able to access the first few pages to read, and it did seem to very thorough.

I have not yet ordered a copy, because whenever I get some extra money, it seems to find it's way to yet another tarot book first!

If you do purchase this book though, and find it useful, I'd be grateful if you could let me know. Maybe Santa will give it to me for Christmas! :)

thinbuddha
17-10-2006, 11:31
It is called "Crystal Ball Gazing" 'The complete guide to choosing and reading your crystal ball' by Uma Silbey.