I have a question about digitally archiving

Papageno

ones collection by scanning and burning to disks.
is this wisdom or folly? what are the pros and cons?

I'm not sure if this is the right forum but the moderator has not gotten back to me yet. if it's the wrong place I assume the thread gets moved.

AJ

As part of a learning task I scanned 5 of my decks, each scan of the same 5 cards (all the aces, all the 2's, etc). I printed them out, and then I moved them off my computer to a private album at Webshots. If I'm working at the computer I can whip into the webshots albums and really see them big, if I'm studying at the table I can pull out my printed scans.

They have helped me grow my knowledge immeasurably, but the time dedicated to doing it was considerable, so unless someone has a reason for scanning I can't see the benefit. What was your purpose in thinking about doing this?

Papageno

hello Authenticjoy
thanks for responding

first of all, it would provide easier access to my card collection which is considerable, not as tremendous as some people's collections here (mind boggling), but it's not just a few decks that I can pulll out of the drawer in 2 seconds. so like you, I would like to have instant access for study.

I also have some old OOP cards and valuable signed decks that I don't like to handle a lot, for instance the old Hoi Polloi (not so valuable but still oop), was not printed on good stock to begin with and feels a bit dry and fragile even though it's coated, but even the coating is thin.
Even currently available editions from Il Meneghello, I handle minimally because they're uncoated and would smudge easily. I am tired of washing my hands constantly. I feel like a surgeon.

I want to store my images on my computer, not remotely. better still burn them on to CD's.

I didn't think about printing them, that's another thought (and more money).