The right rising sign?

MareSaturni

Hi everyone.

My mother used to do astrology charts and she told me my ascendant is Sagittarius, just like my sun sign. However, a while ago, i tried to do my own chart using those sites that offer free astrology stuff (my plan was to use myself as a guinea pig to start learning astrology). But some sites said my ascendant was Sagittarius, and others said it was Capricorn.

I found the chart mom did to me many years ago and found out my ascendant was on the cusp of Sagittarius and Capricorn.

So which is my ascendent? Both? What does it mean to have a sun sign or an ascendant on a cusp?
And does it make any difference? I feel it does, but then again i'm a beginner and i need the opinion of the people who know more than i.

Thanks in advance :D

~Yuko

sweet_intuition

Hello There miss_yuko,

Well, before I begin to answer your question, allow me to give you what "The Rising Sign/Ascendant" means (atleast to me).

The Ascendant-the degree of the ecliptic rising over the eastern horizon at the moment of birth - is the starting point of an astrological chart. It indicated the foundation of the personality, and shows how a subject adapts to his or her environment. The effect of the Ascendant has been compared to that of dawn - the approaching light that begins to illuminate the complexities of a human landscape. Just as one's birthday represents and individual "New Year's Day", so the Ascendant represents the start of that day.