So Frustrated

waggledance

Hi, I've been studying the tarot now on my own for 9 months. My bookshelf is full of tarot books and I feel as if I have a basic understanding of all the cards by now. I prefer to use only upright cards as after trying to get used to using reversals for a few months I found that I just couldn't relate to them as well as when their upright.

I have found my studies sometimes thrilling but often frustrating as studying on your own is a lonely business and you don't get feedback. I have reached the point now where I am so fed up of getting the card out, looking at a spread and coming up blank. All these books teach you the basic meaning of the cards but nothing on how to put it altogether and the different ways of delivering a reading.

Can anyone relate to what I'm saying and can anyone advise me on what to do next? I have tried to find a tutor but there don't seem to be any in my area (Doncaster)

To be honest I'm on the verge of tears because I don't seem to be getting anywhere and I've worked so hard at it.

Milfoil

Awwww pet, don't get down about it.

Why not offer a simple, say 3 card spread, reading for a friend and explain to them that you are a student, its for free but you would like honest feedback. Keep records so that you can refer to them at a later date.

You must have gained a great deal, more than you know but its easy to overlook all that we have learned when we don't see the results we feel should be there.

Keep studying, keep posting and learning from the many very knowledgeable people here and soon you will be able join the reading exchange thread to get some more experience with others who are on the same path as yourself.

Don't worry, just keep plugging away, remember you have the rest of your life to learn tarot - and we never stop learning.

:)

Original Destiny

Hello waggledance..