Advancing Personal Reading Skill

Gnarly

Years and years ago my mom was with her boyfriend. They went to get a reading together and the reader went on to say that he had one child.
"Yeah, I know. He has two." says my mom.
"One isn't his."
My mom figured this was a load of it. But years later, after they were no longer dating, her boyfriend told her the reader was right, it was just a fact that he didn't tell anyone.

Now this reader obviously was someone who had been reading for years upon years. And I am new to tarot, so when I do my readings, they're fairly short. Sometimes I completely do not get a certain card. I've already done enough to know that I'm not terrible, what I can get out of my readings is pretty acurate.

However:

I want to know where you guys learned how to read tarot. I learned reading The Idiots Guide To Tarot. I know it sounds rather onofficial, but I learned a lot. It was really good, but I'm looking for something more, something to help me interpret my readings better. Hopefully I could do this using something from the computer (Books are expensive!), but I'd like to know what kind of experiences and/or books/computer reading could help me in furthering my tarot ability.

-G

Grizabella

This tarot forum is probably the very best resource you'll find on the internet. I've learned more here than I could have learned from any book or other internet website.

Also, practicing reading for others and keeping notes to track your readings over time is an excellent way to improve your skills.

koulla

Gnarly said:
Years and years ago my mom was with her boyfriend. They went to get a reading together and the reader went on to say that he had one child.
"Yeah, I know. He has two." says my mom.
"One isn't his."
My mom figured this was a load of it. But years later, after they were no longer dating, her boyfriend told her the reader was right, it was just a fact that he didn't tell anyone.