Writing on the tarot

nikki0914

I'm new to this and just recently got my first deck. I have had readings before and i noticed that they write on their cards. I was just wondering what the best way to go about doing that would be. thanks

Grizabella

Welcome to AT, nikki. :) You've come to the best place for learning about the cards and socializing with others who use tarot. :)

Not everyone writes on their cards. I think relatively few do, in fact. I don't. It's a matter of choice, though. I don't know what the best way to do it would be. I think if you want to write on your cards to help yourself learn, you should just do it in whatever way will be the best help to you. Maybe on your first deck, you could write things that are of help to you and then you can get a second deck without the writings that you can use after you've learned.

BLFO

I wrote on my first deck. I only wrote key phrases of what the card meant so I could remember what a card stand for. However, take note, those key phrases won't help you to know what a card means in relationship to a spread necessarily.

For instance, I may write on a 3 pentacles card "recognition" because in the RiderWaite deck it looks like a man is doing engravings on a wall and two people who is observing his work is inquiring about his services because they like the work he is doing. They are recognizing his talent.

Let's say that you get 3 pentacles in a romance reading for a relationship that seems one-sided, for you and you ask how the person feels about you and you get the 3 pentacles. You see the word on the card "recognition" and it makes no sense to you. This supposedly is a good card but you are in a bad relationship. You have to do word play. If you want recognition, you are also could possibly searching for approval. The person feels that you are too needy and is always trying to fish out positive confirmations from them.