shadow cards

r0sered1ster

I'm just learning the tarot and have come across the term "shadow cards" on a few occasions, I feel silly for asking but can anyone help me understand what this term means and how exactly are they used?

euripides

I don't always use them as often I select cards from a fanned deck. If I am doing a single card or cut the deck into piles, I'll take the card from the top of each pile, and the one from the bottom is the shadow card.

Generally to me the shadow card suggests something hidden or unacknowleged - for example, the querent isn't telling me something about an issue, or hasn't admitted to their real feelings about something.

r0sered1ster

cards

Can I use the same situation you described to do a daily draw for myself? What you described helps out a lot! Thank you, sometimes I can just feel if something is hidden or not said when dealing with someone. Unfortunately it doesn't come to me on a reliable basis! (ha, ha)

euripides

well yeah, of course. Take your daily from the top, and your shadow from the bottom, that's your two cards for the day.

Realistically you could draw your shadow from anywhere, so long as the intent is there, but I think it kind of makes sense that it is furthest from the drawn card.

Ambience

Nice method

euripides said:
well yeah, of course. Take your daily from the top, and your shadow from the bottom, that's your two cards for the day.

Realistically you could draw your shadow from anywhere, so long as the intent is there, but I think it kind of makes sense that it is furthest from the drawn card.

I really like this method, I'll try putting it to use on a daily basis. I always find actually the cards under what i've drawn negative cards, maybe i should be reviewing these.

r0sered1ster

I'm starting a journal of my daily draws and had the idea of adding the shadow card to it. What methods did you use when learning the tarot?

euripides