Are some querents easier to read than others?

HighPriestesss

Reason I ask is I did 10 mini readings the other night at a party (I'm relatively new at doing readings for others). While the first 9 went pretty good and they seemed happy and content, the next guy had me drawing a blank! None of the cards made any sense.

I had him reshuffle (IMO, that wasn't done long enough), and no surprise ~ the exact same cards reappeared although in different positions in the CC. I couldn't read those either! LOL

I blamed it on mental drainage and left it at that.

1) Are some people just unable to be read?
2) Was I mentally drained?
3) How does one go about gracefully saying the cards aren't making any sense?

jayem

ive gotten that before. some people really just are mentally blocking you from reading them. theyre almost challenging you. even if they may ask, there might be some secret or something that they just dont want you to pick up on.
sometimes when cards keep comming up that make NO sense whatsoever in the reading, i take it as a sign of the tower-effect. something completely unimaginable will happen to that person, whether it be good or bad. but, its so random and unthinkable that the cards cant even make sense of it.

celticnoodle

oh yes, high priestess. I've also read for folks and the cards just did not seem to speak to me. i could not make heads or tails out of them. just as jayem said, i do think some people bring a mental block with them, and the cards just cannot penetrate it.

however, i never thought of it as jayem explained, that possibly the cards see it as "a sign of the tower-effect. something completely unimaginable will happen to that person, whether it be good or bad. but, its so random and unthinkable that the cards cant even make sense of it". thanks jayem for your take on it, I think it's right on, and now will try to pay more attention to that. something definately to think about!

linabeet

could be burnout or