Readings not giving me insight or direction

aurorarose

I have been working on and off with tarot for a few years and most of the time when I draw the cards, I don't get any aha-ness from the reading. It just describes what's going on.

I guess I want the cards to tell me something I don't already know, how do I do that?

AJ

Welcome to AT!

How are you forming your questions?

Schehrazada

Hi aurarose,

From first sight, it could be two things: you are either using a deck that doesn't fully speak to you, or you need to try other spreads.

What do you think it could be? If you give me more specifics, maybe I can help you.

Blessings,

S.

aurorarose

to AJ and S

My questions tend to be What's going on/what do I need to know/what's going to happen in some general area?

I use the RW deck, because I'm a beginner and it seemed like the most understandable, I consider it my learning deck. Sometimes I feel like the deck has the same feeling toward me, like we are learning this stuff together.

I am interested in getting the mythic tarot- I already have the book and I am attracted to interpretations that tell stories, and the herbal tarot- since I am interested in herbalism.

Again since I still consider myself a beginner I use simple spreads, a daily card, romany draw, and if I am feeling really ambitious the celtic cross, though I have seen a few threads on this site that I am interested to try.

I also have a medicine card set that I do daily cards from which I think "speaks" to me a bit more, it gives me lessons to focus on during the day.

Thank you for your insight it has already given me some clues to my blah readings

rebecca-smiles

You say you find they tell you stuff you already know. Well how about reading for someone for feedback (or something if you're not that confident) that you know nothing of?