Basic Astro Query?

Sinduction

Well, I'm fairly new to astrology. So far I've only learned to read my own chart and I know how the placements apply to my personality.

My problem is this. I recently put my birth info into a site that spits back all the info so I don't have to do the chart myself. Actually, I did this a while ago and just noticed this difference.

But I found something that I thought was strange.

The program gave me a list that says "Planets in the Zodiac" and listed Sun in Taurus and Moon in Pisces, etc. But then it says "Planets in the Houses" where the planets are not listed in the houses that corresponds to the sign. For example, here it puts my Moon in the 3rd house where I happen to have Aquarius.

So which is it? Is my Moon in Pisces or Aquarius? Which list am I supposed to go by?

Sorry if this is a daft question but I am entirely confused by the two different lists. :D

MCsea

I know there are much more astrologically intelligent people here on this board - but I will suggest for a start..

time - can be very important (AM PM some are 24 hour clocks and not labeled so) accuracy of the itme you put in is important....

Some astrological software have 'flaws' lets say limitations - in their time conversions (daylight saving ect) for various time zones in various years

Various astrological programs calculate you chart in different ways
Draconic - Placidius - Kock - tropocentric etc.. this will place things in difference houses and different signs

I prefer to use Geocentric Tropical Zodiac Placidus Houses, True Node...
but there are great merits to using other calculations..

MARINA

Aulruna

Hi Sinduction,

Houses can span more than one sign. You "count" the point in the zodiac (a full 360° circle) where the house starts. So it makes sense that your 3rd house is Aquarius, while your Moon, which is not a span but a precise point in your natal chart, can be located near the "end" of the house and thus in Pisces.