Before you read cards...

queenmil

I am new at this and I want to do it right. Is there anything yall do to prepare for a reading.
I just recieved Fenestra cards today and I look at them and they just havent hit me yet. I havent really LOOKED at them yet. I am still looking them over and trying to decide what they mean to me.
I am waiting on my book to come it is the Mary Greer book I think that is her name.
I read over this site and I just dont see some of the things yall see. Do I just need to keep reading and learning or is there a specific state of mind I need to get into to understand .My friend just turns them over and knows what they are immediately.

Alpha-Omega

I do a pre-shuffle and clear my mind. I like to shuffle alot..... Alot lol I make sure its all mixed good. Thats it.

queenmil

I find that I shuffle A LOT as well.

Open Arms

Hmmm...

I look at each card - not a long look but to get a feel for the deck.

Then I shuffle - LOTS - occasionally turning over a card to see what I pick up.

And I shuffle some more.

Do a 3 card spread to see if I can read them...

Shuffle some more...

Just go with the flow....

Skydancer

Hi there! I have the Fenestra - and I see what part of your problem is.
Very few (repeat, very few) people who have never studied tarot can turn over a card, any card, at any time, and just know what it means. You practice. You make up little mini readings. How will the ball game turn out. What should defense work on - and then listen to the commentators. How will the murder mystery on tv turn out. Who done it? At night, draw 2 cards and interpret them as to how your day went. Past tense. How did it already go? Not, what will happen tomorrow. Begine to see what cards have to do with what's going on around you.

Then - post that you want to do a couple of like 3 card readings here at AT for feedback. Get some feel for the cards. When your book comes, see how it relates to what you've been learning. Read more books, or things online.