what is coincidence?

Summersnowflake

Here's something that's got me wondering. Last summer I precipitously started a 78-week comparative study of my tarot decks. I was inspired to do so after I read about the 78-week concept here at the forum and just up and started one day.

I was planning to draw a card randomly each week, but the first card I picked was the Fool! I took that as a sign that this would be a journey so I decided instead to begin at the beginning and follow along in the sequence.

That was kind of a coincidence, I thought, randomly drawing the Fool. Other coincidences have followed, like the Wheel of Fortune coinciding with a previously planned weekend in Vegas...

This week I'm studying the Sun, and what do you know but the yoga program I watch on TV did a full in-depth session on Salute to the Sun followed by extra practice of this particular sequence all week!

I would call this quite a coincidence. But what exactly IS coincidence? Is it really just something to brush off like it's nothing? What if life's coincidences are really expressions of a force at work in the world, the way an apple falling from a tree is an expression of gravity. And if so, what is that force?

I'm sure many people have thought about this before me. Now that I'm curious, where to begin?

Sulis

The older I get the more I realise that I don't really believe in coincidence.
I prefer to think of these 'meaningful coincidences' as synchronicity.

From the Oxford English Dictionary 'synchronicity - noun - the simultaneous occurrence of events which appear significantly related but have no discernible causal connection.

I think that the more you open yourself up, the more you notice it.

Skysteel

Summersnowflake said: