Play That Funky Music

Eruditus

I am a musician, a pianist and a guitarist. Serious music is my specialty, and I love studying and performing for friends (especially the ladies) the masterpieces of Bach and Chopin and Beethoven and Mozart and Rachmaninoff, et. al.

The musician in me cannot help but notice some things that the non-musical have not. Therefore, it is my duty to share these things with my siblings in the Craft.

We're often exhorted to "see" this and "see" that. The Tarot spread is likened to a snapshot or an array of webcams. But what about the other senses?

I hear the Tarot. And I'm sure that an epicurean can taste or smell the Tarot. A sensualist perhaps develops a special relationship to the Tarot on the basis of touch.

Let me go into a little detail about how the sense of hearing has helped me in my education.

It all started one day long ago when I read about a certain planet being a "higher vibration" of another planet or celestial body. That started me thinking. It produced an "image" (an aural image, if you can get your mind around that oxymoronic concept--hey, I never said it would be an easy insight) that delighted me and never left my imagination.

Fast forward a half-decade (isn't it interesting to trace the path of your calling into deeper knowledge, to understand the genealogy of your occult life?) and I am here, in the present day, studying Tarot, where I learn about not only astrology's importance, but also numerology's.

Here is where music theory kicks in. In music, certain intervals (distance between notes) are more harmonious than others, and certain intervals are downright ugly. Sometimes these "ugly" harmonies can be beautiful in their ugliness. I'm afraid you'll just have to trust me on that one. It's true. Context, as I'm sure you know, is everything. A strong context can make a series (spaced tightly or with lots of distance between instances of them) of dissonant chords or notes exquisitely poignant and pleasurable.