PDA

View Full Version : How do you choose?

morticia monroe
06-03-2008, 12:43
How do you choose a stone when you want to work with it? For instance, I know that we have books that tell us what certain stones to use for what specific ailments, so I wonder...

When you are sick, tired, mentally cluttered, whatever, and reach for a stone to help you, do you grab the ones that books tell you are right for that specific problem, or do you look at your stones and take the one that is drawing you in?

bershka
06-03-2008, 12:47
As a beginner, I look at books that tell me the issues crystals heal.

I use blue calcite for relaxing, angelite for compassion and connect to angels, azeztulite for spiritual vibration, dentritic agate for plant pots... basically I am following Judy Hall's book and it has been helping me a lot!

I am not at the stage where I can pick a crystal and figure out its healing properties :D

Hope this helps!!

morticia monroe
06-03-2008, 12:59
Thanks for your reply, Bershka. I bought myself Judy Hall's "Encyclopedia of Crystals" for Christmas, and I have also been reading and learning (although I think there are just far too many for me to ever memorize).

I know that in tarot, you use what comes to your mind as much as using what you have learned from books, and so I am wondering if others use the intuition method as well for their crystals.

I've never really tried to use them for healing or meditation, I just sometimes feel the need to hold one, and at the beginning of the day I go to my crystal case and find the one that is saying "Choose me!" and it goes on my daily rounds with me. At other times, I am drawn to the case and a particular stone will simply seem to want to be handled for awhile, and so I do.

autumnsdaughter
06-03-2008, 13:31
I think that the way you are doing it is really the best way... follow your intuition. I will sometimes look up a stone's properties, but not always.