"How did you learn how to do that?"

lilangel09

Is it just me, or do I get a lot of people asking me, "How did you learn [to read Tarot]?"

They're not as interested in how I stumbled onto Tarot, but about actually learning to read cards.

I'm curious as to what your responses are (or would be).

So, "How did you learn to do that?" ;)

Ivy Rhiannon

LOL I get this response a lot too. I just tell them that I used my LWB until one day giving a reading for my mom I was telling her so much when she asked me, "Oh really? Where do you see that? What card?" It was then that I realized I didn't need a book to read cards, just myself!

I tell them I am still learning. You never truly 'know' how to read them, you just do.

The crowned one

I usually say it is a skill we are all born with but few develop and most have suppressed. Like art we can all do it even without training to a slight degree but few are naturals and most do much better with training..

Actually after thinking about it.... it is more like music, we all can appreciate it, but owning a guitar or piano does not mean you can play it. Still I would say the above just to encourage one to open their minds. ;)

triple_entendre

I think the first layer (textbook meanings) can be learned just like any rote... like touch-typing. You don't (at least, I didn't) memorize where the keys are, you just learn them and then know them. Most decks would have the images as clues to each card's meaning, but even if they don't then as you set out more spreads with the deck, or do daily draws... then, eventually, every card will have come up often enough until their meaning's become familiar. In short, practice.