have you ever inherited cards?

moosebouse

hi, newbie here,

ok, so I never really got into tarot cards before. my mother passed away recently and i found her tarot cards when i was sorting through her knitting stash. i remember thinking, jeez, i don't want to steal my mom's tarot cards and thinking i would not take them. but a month later, when i finally started using her knitting stuff at my own house, the deck was there. so i figured it was mine. i did some research and found out this is a robin wood deck.

so i have been trying to use it a little. it seems to tell me mom like things ("do your homework" "look out for your little sister" "have a baby"). but i am clearly not very good at this. usually most of the cards i get don't make any sense to me.

how long does it take to get to know a deck and to make another person's deck your own? should the circumstances under which i acquired this make it more difficult in my case? how much of my problems here are me learning to do tarot and how much is me getting to know this particular deck?

MoonLitCrystal

I think it's very sweet that you are using your mom's cards. :love:

First of all, have confidence in yourself! Getting to know your cards and really feeling comfortable doing readings takes time. Don't think of it as "I'm not any good," think of it as "I'm at the beginning of my Tarot journey" or "I am going to learn a lot." :)

Everyone is different, so I can't say how much each factor you mentioned plays a part in your experience. In my opinion it does take time for someone to get used to a new deck, and this can throw a monkey wrench (even if it's a good monkey wrench) in the learning process. When I get a new deck it's almost as if I have to re-learn Tarot; of course I don't have to start from the beginning because I know the basic meanings, but I have to get to know that particular deck's special set of symbols and imagery.