Tarot - Intuition or Psychic ability??

romanticdreamz

I have often seen many people here write things such as "I'm seeing this" or "this spoke to me" or "for some reason this sprung to mind" and so on. There does seem to be a large amount of psychic abilities being used or implied rather than intuition. (There is a difference in my mind, although trying to explain it may be difficult!)

So how essential is it to have some sort of psychic ability? I'm still a newbie but any sense of the word and have picked up on some truth in the cards before through intuition as I knew the people somewhat. I don't classify as being psychic although being able to train and develop that side of me would be great.

Do I have a chance of being good at this? Or rather, do some people have more of a talent than others? (It's been a long day...)

Sulis

I don't think that there is any need to have any noticeable psychic ability to learn how to read tarot well.

I do think that everyone is psychic to some degree though, even if it's not apparent and the more you use tarot the more you'll exercise that psychic muscle and your psychic abilities will get stronger... That's what I've found anyway :).

Pao

i've always thought as intuition as being a form of "psychicness" or whatever. I mean how many times has your intuition been wrong? when you feel not to walk on that street, you dont and usually there's a good reason why not to. I agree with Sulis in that its a muscle that with practice gets stronger. When i started and i used the book, I "felt wich definition went with the reading" and after a while you may not need the book as much if you listen to your gut. from my experience i think its just practice though :D

Grizabella

Yes, what Sulis said is right. I used to call it "intuition" or "tapping into subconscious knowledge", but now I'm not afraid to admit to psychic ability. And it's true that the more you use it, the stronger it becomes.