Decider

GryffinSong

There are many factors that go into my choosing a new deck. The artwork (especially as I'm an artist myself), whether the pips have illustrations, and the overall feel of the deck. But I find that I tend to look at certain cards first. And if I don't like it/them, the deck has to be extra great to overcome that first impression.

For me it's mostly the Strength card. I fell in love with this card with my old Hanson Roberts deck. The woman was so gentle and lovely, and her relationship with that gorgeous lion seemed strong in a nonviolent way. What a revelation to me, to see this card without the fighting energy in it that's so often visible. I also have a special relationship with lion energy, as a male lion often appears to me as an inner guide.

So, is there a special "decider" for you when you look at a deck?

missy

I look at The Moon first. I also look at The Fool, The Sun, The Hermit. I am interested in the Three of Cups. I might check the Aces and the Four of Wands, among others. And yes, I do love the Strength card. I also like The Chariot.

Since you like the Strength card, have you ever seen the Strength card from the Circle of Life deck? :)

http://www.tarotgarden.com/database/images/c-decks/circleoflifecards.gif

Really, it is the deck as a whole that speaks to me, but yes, I do tend to look at certain cards, and I always give a good look to the Majors and try to see if I think I will be able to read with their interpretations of the Minors.

Good question! :)

ETA: And I always look at the High Priestess! :D

Logiatrix

Whenever I'm checking out a new deck, I always look at the Sun and the Moon cards, but I don't have to be absolutely enamored with them to like the deck.

One possible deal-breaker is the Devil, and since I've been reading regularly with RWS decks, the 10 of Swords.
:)

ilweran

Queen of Swords as she often comes up as me when I read for myself. HP, Moon and 9 Swords are important as well.