bad deck?

hslimcaroline

Hi,

I have been using my Thoth Deck for a couple years now but lately the cards I have been picking are giving me really "bad" or "sad" news. Even readings which I know are obviously wrong. Has anyone ever experienced this? Where the readings are confusing and contradictory and which you instinctively know are wrong? Should I throw this deck away and get a new one?

By the way, I have been following this forum for some years now and I really must thank all of you for the many insights and lessons I have benefited from all of you!

Thirteen

hslimcaroline said:
I have been using my Thoth Deck for a couple years now but lately the cards I have been picking are giving me really "bad" or "sad" news. Even readings which I know are obviously wrong. Has anyone ever experienced this? Where the readings are confusing and contradictory and which you instinctively know are wrong? Should I throw this deck away and get a new one?
Have you tried cleansing it? Maybe it's expressing its own sadness and need for some rest and renewal?

hslimcaroline

Thank you for the reply, Thirteen. I tried cleansing like passing it over a candle or leaving it out in the sun for a while but its still giving me (strangely) more or less the same sad readings.

rwcarter

Have you tried putting it back into order? Fool - World, Ace - 10 and then courts of each suit in whatever suit order you feel is appropriate? (Or whatever order is more appropriate for the Thoth.) Kinda like a reset to zero?

Rodney

GryffinSong

Perhaps you could do a spread about the deck itself?

Or set it aside in a beautiful bag or scarf for awhile?

I wouldn't throw it out. It's served you well in the past, and it may be that there's something it needs to say, or that you need a break from it for awhile. Maybe instead of cleansing the deck, there's something you need to do?

Hugs and good luck!

punchinella