9 of Swords Rx as feelings - and then The World and 10 of cups?

VSN

Hello!

I'm a newbie here, so please have a bit of patience with me :)
So basically a while ago I did a 9-card spread about a potential relationship that started out beautifully but never lifted itself off the ground for reasons that were unknown to me. In the "What are his feelings for me?" column I pulled 3 cards, two of which baffled me:

9 of Swords Rx
Strength Rx

Although I never use clarifiers for my readings I decided I wanted to use them now so I could understand the situation better and put it to rest. The clarifiers pulled in addition to the 9-card spread were:

9 of Swords Rx ---- The World and 10 of Cups
Strength Rx ------- The Star Rx and 5 of Pentacles

While the latter I believe I can understand - lack of self-confidence (Strength and The Star) and courage to initiate anything, feelings of hopelessness, fear (probably brought from a previous failed relationship), possibly a distorted body image that contributes to the lack of confidence (he might have some weight issues) - the former I cannot so easily.
What are your opinions on this combination? I associate the 9 of Swords Rx with anxiety, discontent, nightmare but with the other two what should I understand of it?
Thank you for taking the time to read and answer this!:)

jenessa

What are your opinions on this combination? I associate the 9 of Swords Rx with anxiety, discontent, nightmare but with the other two what should I understand of it?
There are a couple of ways to read 9 Swords in the reversed position, in the sense that "depending on the surrounding cards" it can be read as: mental anguish being brought to an even deeper and more negative level .. or conversely, it could represent a letting go of whatever is causing the person to suffer .. (ie. the swords that are hanging over the person's head, have fallen away). So with this trio of cards I would use the later meaning for this reversal.