Economic factors & printing techniques in early Tarot

baba-prague

[moderator note: This thread properly formed posts which ensued from ihcoyc's post in the thread A look at Tarot as very Ancient.... I have edited this post solely to add this introductory note. jmd]

"I have an entirely unfounded speculation that the images in the Tarot were in fact created for some entirely different purpose --- perhaps, as printer's woodcuts for some religious text? --- and that they were re-used as parts of a card game when their original purpose fell through. "

_____

I do think we don't look at things enough from the production point of view. To digress slightly to give an analogy, I remember studying film under the "post-structuralist" critical approach and we were always being told about certain scenes being done in certain ways for reasons of great significance. A couple of years later when I studied with post-grad film makers (rather than film critics) I realised that the reasons were often altogether more mundane - certain scenes were shot the way they were because of the differing technologies of film in different eras. This just wasn't apparent to critics who never practised as film makers.

When I talk to my partner Alex, who is trained in very traditional print techniques, I realise he sees things in a whole different way from someone brought up with modern print methods. So I actually don't think your theory is ridiculous - we DO see bits of design repurposed all the time (design and production is expensive - you don't just throw things away, you try to re-use).

I'd love to do a bit more serious study about the technology available to the early card makers (and the economics of this - how much had to be reused to make it cost-effective?) I think we tend to forget that this was a big constraint on what could be done.

Like you say, a speculation until we have something to back it up - but an interesting one.