Most Elevated Planet in Chart

PentQueen

Hi everyone!

I'm a bit of a newbie to charts, and I was just told that my Moon is my most elevated planet. I'm wondering, first off, what the most elevated planet symbolizes? And how an elevated Moon would express itself? I'm very interested to know more about this aspect of the chart!

Minderwiz

The most elevated planet is the planet nearest the degree of the MC, Ideally it should be in the tenth house or just across in the ninth House but it could fall in any house, even below the horizon, if all your planets lie in houses 1 to 7 inclusive.

Modern theory takes the most elevated planet to have special importance for tenth house matters - career, social status and social action. It is therefore where you are most noticeable to others.

It will be stronger in a chart if it actually rules the MC, or aspects it. You should also check its aspects to other planets to see how it interacts with them.

I don't particularly pay attention to the most elevated planet, mainly because elevation is not, of itself, an indication of strength. If the planet is in the tenth then it already has strength by being angular, which is a much more reliable indicator. If it were in the eighth it's weakly placed in the chart. The same would be true if it lay in the twelfth house. House placement can be more easily evaluated. There are other conditions that affect how we evaluate a planet; it's placement by sign, its phase position relative to the Sun (for example if it's Retrograde, it is weakened), its aspects to generally favourable planets like Venus and Jupiter or its aspects to generally difficult planets, such as Mars and Saturn.

Barleywine