Why was I ever afraid of this deck?

Carla

When I first started with the tarot (two years now, nearly--I'm still a newbie, but I feel I'm making good strides), I was frankly freaked out by this deck. I didn't get it and didn't want to get it. The artwork creeped me out. All those esoteric symbols. Goats. Horns. Twistedy folk. Drippy looking things. Aleicester Crowley? He liked to draw a cock in his signature! Wait, he put one on the Devil Card! EEEWW! I went and bought Universal Waite and Rabbit Tarot. Forget Mr. Freaky!

So today, when I opened the deck, I was prepared to dislike it. But guess what. The colours are beautiful. The art is amazing. After all the time I've spent looking at RWS, and even TdM, I can see what's going on in the majors, I think. It's like the majors refracted through prisms. I am looking forward to working with the deck. It feels nice in the hand. The cards are just the right size, the card stock shuffles beautifully. The thing stinks to high heaven, though. You'd have thought it was a Meuller deck, I had to keep checking the box to see that it's US Games.

Anyway. I'll post my first reading and see what you all think. :)

nicky

enjoy the ride :)

Carla

Thanks, Nicky! Hopefully studying the real thing will help me with Haindl, Vision Quest and my few other Thoth-ish decks.

Barleywine

Thanks, Nicky! Hopefully studying the real thing will help me with Haindl, Vision Quest and my few other Thoth-ish decks.

Interestingly, I'm just starting to explore other "Thoth-ish" decks after using the real thing for almost 40 years. The Haindl is quite nice and I'm zeroing in on a few others. But the Thoth is not likely to be dethroned.

Chiska

Every time I take out one of my Thoth decks, I wonder why I have any others!

Good on you for putting aside your aversion and taking the first step. It is a beautiful deck, full of wondrous things to explore. Each time you look at a card, you will discover something new.