Reversals with Thoth deck

TyroneLove

In the conclusion of one of the early chapters of her book Complete Book of Tarot Reversals, Mary Greer writes that she always use reversals in her readings except when using the Thoth deck and another one which I can't remember right now. Problem is she doesn't say why.

As it is the deck I'm studying the tarot with, this confused me a bit. I've done a quick search on the web and read somewhere that you traditionnaly don't use reversals with the Thoth deck.

I know Golden Dawn members use elemental dignities so they don't need to interpret reversed cards but it shouldn't be set in stone that said deck can't be used with them, right ? I mean it seems a bit stupid to me. Unless of course I'm not seeing the whole picture.
Anybody can help me with that ?

Barleywine

I've never seen any reason not to use them, but then I've also never run across any published mention of the Thoth's inherent unsuitablity for it. I've been using the Thoth deck for a very long time and have had no issues with reversals, although I tend to give them less weight across the board these days regardless of the deck I'm using. It's not about the deck itself but about the often subtle redirection of the energy imparted by a card's reversed orientation. I believe the visual image is secondary to one's grasp of the concepts involved (except perhaps where the "facing" of the image is relevant to the reading).

TyroneLove

Thanks for the insight Barleywine.

Barleywine

Perhaps Teheuti (MKG) can offer some clarification if she happens to see this thread.

BrightEye

In the conclusion of one of the early chapters of her book Complete Book of Tarot Reversals, Mary Greer writes that she always use reversals in her readings except when using the Thoth deck and another one which I can't remember right now. Problem is she doesn't say why.