Improvement? Or Destruction?

Orange-Eyed Raven

Deck Decoration? Or Deck Destruction?

First of all, Thank You Moonbow* for your assistance in placing this thread in a better location. :angel:

I recently acquired Joseph Vargo's Gothic Tarot, and when I first looked at the deck, something seemed to really bother me: the fact that the raw edges of the cards were white, while the predominant color on the front & back of the cards is black. The white, to me, seemed to stand out, and not in a good way.

So, :lightbulb inspiration struck me, and I got a black marker (I'm an illustrator so we're NOT talking 'Sharpie' or 'Marks-A-Lot' hee hee) and I carefully colored the edge of each card, one by one, until the [highlight]ENTIRE[/highlight] deck was done. This process took about 1 hour to do. And yes, I did also color the Title card and the card advertising Madame Endora's Fortune Cards (subsequently, I also colored my deck of Fortune Cards when I saw the results). I was absolutely [highlight]THRILLED[/highlight] with the results!! It sounds crazy, but it kind of seems that the cards were waiting for this. It seemed to add a touch of elegance, class, and "loftiness". The colors on both the front and back of the cards (especially the [highlight]Reds[/highlight]) really stand out now. When I hold the entire deck, the Edges now look like black silk or smooth black metal. Funny how just a 0.5mm strip of color changes the entire look and feel of a Tarot deck!!

So the question I want to pose is this: what do you guys think about coloring and/or modifying existing decks like this? I mean sure, theres the B.O.T.A. Tarot, where the deck is intended to be colored by the user, but I'd like to know people's opinions about what I did, and perhaps learn about changes/modifications that other people have done.

Thanks for reading, and looking forward to reading your replies! :)

~Victor~

Cerulean

Yes, I work with the decks that I like until they suit me