RWS Knight sword's wood pigeon?

Cara Jackson

Hi Tarot teachers - anyone know if its a woodpigeon or what kind of bird on this Knights armour and horse's embelishments - there is a proper name for that, isnt their?
Bats - does thi indicate he is a swift as a bat or doesnt look before taking action?
His foots armour is very bird like, is this to represent teh element of Air?
Is it only my pack that has a grey horse - shouldnt it be white?
Many thanks
Cara

Richard

I'm a teacher of maths, not Tarot, but here are my thoughts about the birds.

There seem to be different kinds of birds on the card. While they all suggest Air, the flying birds have a zigzag wing configuration like the Aquarius symbol (of which the Kt of S rules the first two decans). The bird on the Knight's breast could be an Eagle (Scorpio/Death), while the red birds on the horse could be cardinals, a reminder that the Kt also rules the last decan of Capricorn.

Waite tended to hide the astrological attributions of the cards.

caridwen

Cara Jackson said:
Hi Tarot teachers - anyone know if its a woodpigeon or what kind of bird on this Knights armour and horse's embelishments - there is a proper name for that, isnt their?
Bats - does thi indicate he is a swift as a bat or doesnt look before taking action?
His foots armour is very bird like, is this to represent teh element of Air?
Is it only my pack that has a grey horse - shouldnt it be white?
Many thanks
Cara

What bats?

I think the birds may also be Cardinals.

Yes the element of Air is represented by birds.

Birds in general in tarot mean messages. Birds live on the earth as well as in the air so they can act as divine messengers like angels. From the divine to the practical.

The male Cardinal is bright red http://semanticmarmot.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/0802040650001img_9684.jpg and the Roman Catholic Cardinal is named after the bird because of the colour of their vestments.