Looking for help with the '71 RWS

winterbagel

Hi folks, I'm a newb to the forum, joined up after spending a lot of hours narrowing down info online and coming to the conclusion you guys seem to have the broadest collective knowledge (and the most accurate!) of RWS decks.

I have what I believe is a deck printed somewhere between '71 and '74 but as the LWB is no longer with it I am going strictly by the fact that the cards do not have the copyright printed on them, and the US Games post code on the box is NY 10016. Since there were 2 separate addresses for the same post code, there was likely separate printing years connected to each - which I'm guessing were printed in the booklets issued with the decks - alas, I've no book!

I'm a bit OCD about details and thought it may be possible to narrow the specific year further by the box since there are slight differences in their printing as well over the years. I've gathered from info on this forum that a correction to the word Forward's spelling was made, as well as changed/added text, isbn no.s, barcodes etc..

My question is - does anyone know when the line "COPYRIGHT ©1971 U.S. Games Systems Inc. NY 10016" was printed on, and then subsequently removed from the back of the box bottoms?

I have seen backs with the exact same text as the pre-1975 boxes, save for that specific last line. After '75 it is no longer printed on any (that I've seen so far). I was hoping a few folks with intact sets could compare their LWB dates to whether or not that line appears on their box backs to see if there is a time-frame associated with it =)

Anyway, sorry for being so long winded, just trying to be clear lol!

winterbagel

Thank you Karen, but I actually found this site because I initially started my search reading at the site link you provided =)