9 of Swords: Cruelty

magdelena

I pulled this card in a reading today and I'm completely lost as to how to interpret it. The card confuses the heck out of me. I'm just learning the deck, so after jotting down a few of my own ideas in my notebook, I looked up the meaning in the LWB. There was the literal meaning, cruelty, and then the "well-dignified" meaning, faithfulness.

Now, normally, a card right-side up is the "positive" meaning, and the other way around for reversals (I turned the card right-side up.) Which meaning should I go by? And how in the world did they get "faithful" from such a bloody image?

Cerulean

Here's a site where each card has input

Along with the picture of every card, people have written in their impressions.

http://www.geocities.com/Paris/2110/

In terms of the meanings given, I sometimes find a headspin because the Thoth sometimes pulls from old meanings listed by Arthur Waite and older definitions written by Etteilla or writers trying to put some meaning to the minor cards.

If I find anything better addressing your question, online or otherwise, I'll post...but meantime I thought you might also find comfort in knowing you aren't the first one stumped by this meaning. Maybe some of the discussion might also give some additional meanings...

Mari H.

Cerulean

I found two online sites

My own idea is the nine of swords upright is more about the loss of faith and the mental nightmare if someone found out a belief was untrue and had horrible consequences or someone they loved was unfaithful or disloyal to them. I think that's a standard meaning if pulling the card alone and trying to get the main meaning.

But these two sites below suggest different meanings related to the well-dignified or positive meaning. I believe the 'well-dignified' meaning comes from also checking out surrounding cards in a layout--but I'm not familiar with all of Crowley or Lady Frieda Harris' suggestions for card meanings.

NINE OF SWORDS: CRUELTY