Court Card Tips

Starlight23

I'm studying the Gilded Tarot deck. I got through the Major and Minor arcana just fine, but the courts are giving me difficulties even with book in hand. Are there any tips on learning the court cards?

re-pete-a

Get out of your head and into your feelings or heart.

Thats where things start to move.

MareSaturni

Court Cards get easier only with practice. No book really helps in the end, 'cause then you have to memorize meanings or personality traits, and that's never good.

I advice for you to grab a notebook and your deck and go through each court card. Write down what you see in each card. If you had to deserve the person in the card, how would it be? What the King of Cups seems to be feeling? And the Queen of Swords... if you had to guess her thoughts, what would they be? And so on. This way, the Court Cards will stop being just cards with meanings and will become characters... like people you know. And when you se them on a spread, you will somehow know what they are telling you.

Is it easy? No. Fast? No. It takes some practice. But it'll help you more than the book. Meet your court cards, don't just read about them.

celticnoodle

Starlight23 said:
I'm studying the Gilded Tarot deck. I got through the Major and Minor arcana just fine, but the courts are giving me difficulties even with book in hand. Are there any tips on learning the court cards?

oh, great deck! i have the same one, and it is a wonderful deck.
but, i agree with the previous two posts, as difficult as it is to do so, you need to let the book go and just read. if it helps, in the beginning just read them as a male or female, young or old, in the beginning. and do take notes on the readings, noting how they fall and what you notice about each card. you can also keep in mind basically the suits with each court. what do the wands mean? swords, cups and pentacles?

and, Marina is right. it gets much easier after playing with the cards for awhile.