Some Advice for the Beginner

Juliana

I hate to start another "help the n00b" type thread, but I have read all the others and I was just hoping for some advice. I'm new to the Thoth in some ways, and not so new in others. I've had the Thoth and the Liber T (which I adore!) for a while now, along with about 8 other tarot decks. I've always been very attracted to the symbolism in tarot, but I admit that I am not as knowledgeable as I should be or would like to be. As such I'm renewing my efforts to really understand the Thoth deck in particular. Right now I have the Liber T, the purple-box Thoth deck, and a copy of The Crowley Tarot: The Handbook to the Cards by Banzhaf (a book I've since come to realize is not so popular in some circles). I also have an e-book copy of the Book of Thoth.

All that said, I haven't read anything yet. Considering my scant background knowledge, I'm thinking that I really need to start at a lower level and get my bearings before I try to read the Book of Thoth. So, what do you recommend? My plan was perhaps to read Duquette's Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot and maybe his Chicken Qabalah too hoping that after that I would have the background knowledge to really delve in a bit deeper. I think studying the Thoth from the angle of Hermetic Qabalah may be a great first step for me. After that I would love to look at the astrology angle. Are there any great books for the astrology of the Thoth (or really of tarot in general)? Goodness I feel so green asking these questions. *blush* Hopefully I'm not over-thinking all of this. Thanks for your help.

Grigori

HEy Juliana :) I think you're on the right track. If you're wanting some help on the underlying structure of the Thoth, then Duquette is the best bet I think. For the Astrology side of things, Frawley's "The Real Astrology" is great, though it does assume a little previous knowledge, but that is also stuff you could google as you work through his book.