Traditional Tarot - Rider Waite

etherealtarot

I've never picked up a Rider Waite deck in my life and to be honest I probably won't ever buy it. I just don't feel connected to it.

However, I'd like to know every one else's opinion on the deck and how it reads for you. I know every deck is different but how would you describe the personality of the RW in general?

uruz

I'm just getting into after a bit of time spent with the TdM. I like the art, I like the richness of symbolism in many of the cards. I don't like the imbalance of that richness, where it seems to me that some cards are pregnant with meaning and others are somewhat plain and straightforward.

I also find it a bit generic. This is probably due to its vast popularity, rather than any shortcoming of the deck itself. I'm sure if this was 1915 it would blow me away. This of course is just me. I'm the type of person to value obscurity for obscurity's sake, so the plain fact of R-W-S being the top dog is a strike against it in my mind, despite popularity and quality being completely uncorrelated in either direction.

As far as reading with it, though, I find it very easy to connect the card with the meanings. TdM is garbage for divination when compared with the lovingly rendered minors of R-W-S.

I suspect that in the future I will have two main decks, a TdM and a R-W-S derivative of some sort that I connect with a little more. At that point, I wouldn't be surprised if the R-W-S derivative was used 80% of the time.

Grizabella

I don't like the art very well and can't tell you how many decks I tried before breaking down and getting the Universal Waite because I liked the recoloring Mary Hanson Roberts did. Take my advice and don't sell the deck short. It's an awesome deck just full of symbolism that isn't apparent at first. There's nothing like it for reading with once you learn it. The longer I read Tarot, the more my respect for it grows.

Nemia