Seaking of Rider Waite symbols (another one hehe)

Liliana

Does anyone know the symbolism of the W on the Ace of Cups? Im studying the Ace of Cups over a multitude of decks for ideas for my FACT card andIve found it repeated in many decks. Is it something stupid, like meaning Waite (in which case I will not use it) or is it deeper than that? Also, could someone give me some non christian reasons for the cross and circle? I want to make sure I can discuss my symbolism in Christian andnon Christian terms (in Christian terms its obvious that the card depicts the Holy Spirit descending upon the communion wafer and communal cup)

Malachite

Could it be something to do with the Grail?....the Quest for the Perfect Love?...

just a thought....i hadn;t noticed the w actually...

Liliana

couldb, like I said I have absolutely no clue lol

Briarfoote

A "W" stands for the ups and downs on life's paths. OK, I just made that up. I too had not noticed a "W". The overwhelmingly christian symbolism always threw me off on this card. Then a friend of mine gave some non-Christian themes for them.

Dove (White / purity) as symbol of peace and in some cases love.
Cup as Holy Grail, Holy Grail is retelling of Celtic Sacred Cauldron - fertility and the mysteries.

I forget some of the others... sorry.
Still seemed very heavily Christian to me.

Original Destiny

just a thought is it a Hebrew letter?

Mojo

Is it a W or an upside down M?

The W character isn't part of the Hebrew alphabet, but it is a representation of a character in the earlier Phonecian alphabet where it was the pre-cursor to the Roman F, G, U and V (as I recall).

It was added to the Roman alphabet in the middle ages, usually as a representation of the Greek Omega....

Symbolically Omega can mean the end of a path, or the end of a pattern, or the fulfillment of a quest. Lots of possibilities for the symbol on the Ace of Cups!

However, to me the letter doesn't so much look like a W as it does like an upside down M.