Tarot books for young people?

ihcoyc

I have a niece age 14 who has shown some interest in Tarot. I may give her a deck for Christmas: probably the Hanson-Roberts, it seems "safe," and it's based on RWS, so it probably will work well to learn with.

I probably ought to get her a book to go with, though. Does anyone have any recommendations for Tarot books for this particular age group?

Keslynn

I highly recommend Tarot for New Generation by Janina Renee. It's written so that teens can understand it, but it's not dumbed down at all either. There are some other tarot books written specifically for that age group but I don't remember the names right off the top of my head. Try searching amazon for tarot and teen.

:) Kes

ihcoyc

Thanks --- I know I've seen that around on bookstore shelves, and it sounds like it is pretty close to being just the ticket.

Kiama

I started studying Tarot at the age of 9, but didn't really buy any other books except for the one that I bought age 9, until I was around 13/14. I found that most of the books aimed at adults were okay for me aswell, apart from the Qaballistic/Hermeti/Golden Dawn based ones.

78 Degrees of Wisdom would be okay for a 14 year old, a would Tarot Journeys by Yasmine Galenorn: This book has a CD that comes with it, and is based around meditations which take you through each of the Major Arcana in visualisation. The CD has got the Fool and Magician guided meditation on it, and I loved them! The book gives you all of the guided visualisations in writing, with instructions about how to speak, when, etc, so you can record he other ones if you like. I loved this book and CD, as did my little sister, who listened to the CD when she was 10. It really helped me understand the Majors alot more.

Kiama

Maan

I second Keslynns recommedation its a great book and its ment for people that age!
But thats does not keep me from using it ;)

Red Emma

Books for Teen Taroists