New to historical decks, where to begin?

a*weaver

Hello All,

I'm just beginning to crack into the deep roots & history of tarot after working with RWS & modern decks for many years. Aside from the wealth of info on these boards what resources can you recommend to get the foundational understanding of historical decks?

And which deck do I begin with?!

Thank you :)

Yves Le Marseillais

Gallery of historical decks

Hello All,

I'm just beginning to crack into the deep roots & history of tarot after working with RWS & modern decks for many years. Aside from the wealth of info on these boards what resources can you recommend to get the foundational understanding of historical decks?

And which deck do I begin with?!

Thank you :)

Hello a weaver,

If you are interested in historical decks, I suggest you to have a tour on my own website as to see a nice gallery of old historical Tarot of Marseilles Pattern decks.

You will note some interesting details on it and will trains your eyes by comparing old decks and how changes appeared during time.
To understand history of tarot means that you will have to look at old tarot sources such as old decks.
As not everybody can reach Museums and private collections, I posted this decks for peaple like you.

See my site: http://tarot-de-marseille-heritage.com/english/historic_tarots_gallery.html

Salutations from Marseille City

Yves LM

Niclas

As not everybody can reach Museums and private collections, I posted this decks for peaple like you.

Though I already know the site, it just occured to me that I never said "thank you".

Thank you.

Inconnu

For research I can recommend a couple of books;

Stuart Kaplans The Encyclopedia of Tarot, vol I.

The Tarot: History, Symbolism, and Divination, by Robert Place.

History of the Occult Tarot, Michael Dummett & Ronald Decker.

I've read these & found them worthy.

Inconnu

Hello a weaver,