New to Astrology- Where to start?

gypsylady

Hi!

I have been wanting to get into astrology for as long as I can remember, but have always shied away from it because of how complicated it seems, but I am now ready to take it on! The other aspect of it is that I just have no idea where to start with it...

My question is where do I start? Do I use software, do I read up on it.. how can I understand it??

Any suggestions much appreciated!

gypsylady

Anyone at all? :)

MandMaud

from another beginner

I'm no expert but Astrolabe is great: http://alabe.com/
Get (free there, and on many sites) your own birth chart - stick with that rather than printing out one for everyone you know, before you start to understand the details.

The glyphs (little symbols for planets and signs) you get to know gradually.

And this is a good site, with a full course of lessons:
http://www.bobmarksastrologer.com/TOClessons.htm

I could list another dozen that I have bookmarked, but I'd have to check first to remind myself which are worth it!

I started off just knowing Sun signs - which sign the Sun was in at your birth. Then the Moon sign (which sign the Sun was in at your birth), and if possible Ascendant (aka rising sign).

Then i got the gist (only the gist!) of aspects - meaning the angle one planet makes to another in the chart.

Next I moved onto the houses. Easier in a way, more subtle in a way.

I don't go with the daily horoscope, but the daily 'general' horoscope from some places will give you an overview of what's happening in the sky today - that can be helpful depending if you learn that way rather than from organised tables and lessons. Or maybe the month's / year's forecast (or looking-back) is easier to take in.

I was just starting to try transits, which I was finding a bit too mathsy, when the Tarot bug bit me and I have neglected astrology quite a lot in the last few months...

Hope this helps as a start!
:) mm

Aviorwolf

Hi,