Tarot Apps - Good idea?

Greenwood

Hi everyone.

I was just wondering what everyone's thoughts were about tarot apps for things like the iPhone/iPod, Blackberry, etc.. Are they the next big thing? Are they a replacement for the decks themselves? Are they a bridge to bring people who have not been exposed to tarot much if at all into the fold? Are they worth using?

Or are they a gimmick, something you might use a few times then forget about? Are they a flash in the pan? Is the idea of using an app to do tarot readings illogical? Unthinkable? Is there no replacement for using the real thing? Does the subject matter of the deck make a difference?

These are a few things I've been wondering about lately and I thought I'd get some opinions from the experts. ;)
Thank you.

Greenwood

...and yes, I'm a lurker.
I decided to come out of the shadows for a change. :D

cardlady22

I am not an expert . . .
For me, it would depend on the programming behind what is being generated. If it's a random Card-A-Day thing, then it would only help me learn the cards. (not a bad use/goal, but nothing to write home about either) I'd like to see functions where the astrological & calendrical associations play into it as well.

Greenwood

Thanks cardlady22, you bring up a good point and another good question. If you are for the app idea, what would you want it to do for you? Are some decks better suited for apps than others? Would a more general app be preferable to a deck specific/themed one? (woops, more than one question)

Thanks again.

cardlady22

}) A whole can of worms, right?

I'm stirring things around . . . but off the top of my head, I'd say that certain decks lend themselves to different types of functions. Obviously, a deck where the author/creator has designated a detailed system would work better than a generic RWS clone. In my ideal world, there would be a choice of "modes" or plug-ins where I could specify what level to analyze or generate the card(s) from.

Greenwood