"sanitizing" decks for public readings

theora

"sanitizing" decks for party readings

I am new to the business of reading at parties. I have a particular concern and would love to benefit from your experience.

I was recently auditioned by the owner of a company that is in the business of providing readers for parties and events, and added to the roster of readers. My first job is coming up!

I've been reading cards for years (for both friends and friendly strangers) but am very new at doing parties.

I've been told that I am required to "sanitize" the deck - removing the death card, the tower, the devil, the 10 of swords... and, inexplicably (to me) the hanged man. the reason for this is to avoid freaking out anyone. (Oh, but I get to keep the three of swords, and the nine - but not the HM?! Buh?)

also, in asking for pro advice at a conference, I was told by more than one longtime pro to do this.

since my employer is requiring this of me, I will of course comply. but... it gives me pause. can you still do good readings when you're not playing with a full deck?! and how do I reconcile this with wanting to be as professional as possible? plus, the hanged man? that is such a good card, to my eyes!

I welcome any and all advice. I've attempted to search on this topic and have apparently not hit the right keyword (although bringing hand sanitizer is probably a good idea too, lol).

3crows

huh?