Beginner's Question about the Thoth Tarot

SarahStar

Hi all,

I wasn't sure what forum to put this in, so I hope it's okay here. I am a beginner reader, and I recently got the Rosetta Tarot. It's a lovely deck based partly on the RWS and partly on the Thoth. My question is this: can you read the "traditional" RWS meanings on the Thoth tarot and other decks that don't follow that system? Or are Thoth meanings meant to be totally different?

Thanks! -Sarah

Abrac

On one level the Thoth's meaning are totally different, but on another they're similar. I think you can use RWS meanings, but if you do so exclusively you'll be robbing yourself of the total depth the Thoth has to offer.

Richard

Hi all,

I wasn't sure what forum to put this in, so I hope it's okay here. I am a beginner reader, and I recently got the Rosetta Tarot. It's a lovely deck based partly on the RWS and partly on the Thoth. My question is this: can you read the "traditional" RWS meanings on the Thoth tarot and other decks that don't follow that system? Or are Thoth meanings meant to be totally different?

Thanks! -Sarah
Hi, Sarah. I suspect that most fortune tellers who use Thoth (primarily for its visual impact) do something like that. Actually, the RWS has similar roots in esotericism as the Thoth, but this is generally overlooked by most Tarot authors and readers who use that deck. I should think that the Thoth images would not be helpful in a reading which uses popular RWS meanings, but neither are they necessarily incompatible with such an approach. Another deck which is Thoth-like but seems to be popular with fortune tellers is the Liber T, in which the pip cards have actual scenes rather than abstract designs. Personally I hate the Liber T, but that's just me.

Zephyros

Hi all,

Thanks! -Sarah