Thoth deck the one and only?

yogiman

Crowley was not appreciating other tarot decks. It seems to me that there are different people, thus different universes, thus different tarot decks proper. One might assert that this one is gold, that one is silver, one is copper, and some are just trash.

I mention this, because I am studying the Jungian Tarot by Sally Nichols at the moment, and it is refreshing. It is like viewing the world with a male perspective (Thoth) vs. a female perspective (Marseilles).

Grigori

The Thoth Tarot was not published as a deck during Crowley's lifetime. He apparently read primarily with a TdM style deck, and likely made his own Golden Dawn style deck during his time in that order. He more frequently used the I Ching for divination. It's ironic that his tarot work is so much better known than his I Ching publication.

I really like the Rosetta tarot as a close alternative to the Thoth, and use it often due to its availability as a phone app. Sometimes I like to use my oldest deck the Mythic Tarot. I find it good for some types of readings, and Thoth good for others.

ravenest

Crowley was not appreciating other tarot decks.
Wrong! Crowley probably never had a Thoth deck. So he certainly could not have seen the 'Thoth deck as the one and only'. It didn't appear until 1969. The deck he used was before a Thoth deck was every created. Do your homework.

If you think people here see the Thoth as the one and only I think you are mistaken ... I don't recall anyone here being like that or saying that - except you.

You keep projecting your ideas on to us and then asking for explanations of why we are that way, or why it is that way. I think you need to start asking some different questions - about yourself.

It seems to me that there are different people, thus different universes, thus different tarot decks proper. One might assert that this one is gold, that one is silver, one is copper, and some are just trash.
Of course - that's life.